Hearty Heresy


Last Night I Dreamed I Was Co-Teaching Sunday School with Mel Gibson
February 18, 2007, 6:58 pm
Filed under: Christianity, Religion

I have to say, I was pretty thrilled by it. I may disagree with Mel’s theology, but I’m sure he’s a decent enough fellow (and there but for the grace of God, I may have been stopped for a DUI once upon a time…I probably wouldn’t have gone into the anti-Semetic rage, though). At any rate, this post isn’t about Mel. It is about theology, though. Orthodox theology, to be precise.

I was originally thinking of calling this blog “Humble Heresy” in response to the “Humble Orthodoxy” movement (nothing against humility, mind you). But I figure, if heretics are going to be humble, we’re either not going to be heard, or we’ll end up being burnt at the stake. Hence the need for “Hearty Heresy.” So here’s the thing about “Humble Orthodoxy”: it’s a “commitment to believing, living, and representing the truth with humility.” Fair enough. What’s the truth, though? Just what you would expect from a group with “orthodox” in its name. “The cross is the central truth.” Ouch. Literally. A religion build on suffering breeds suffering, no matter how humble some followers aspire to be.

Heresy, on the other hand, is all about choice. Choosing to believe, live, and represent one’s deepest values free of all coercion. And I’m afraid coercion is exactly what the central truth of the cross amounts to. If it’s the center of your theology (rather than, say, the actual teachings of the living Jesus), then no matter how humble you may be, you still believe that everyone must believe the same truth as you in order to be saved. And that, my friends, is not a humble approach to religion.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

