Hearty Heresy


Borg and Crossan Take on Mel Gibson
March 22, 2007, 8:27 pm
Filed under: Bible, Christianity, Heresy, Jesus, Religion, Theology

If you’ve been reading my blog for awhile, you’ll know that I’m not a big fan of Mel Gibson’s Passion of the Christ. (I am a Mel Gibson fan, by the way, just not that particular movie). Well, when I was getting a link for my last post on Marcus Borg’s Meeting Jesus Again, I noticed that Marcus Borg and John Dominic Crossan have written a response to Mel’s version of The Passion called The Last Week. There’s a link to an mp3 of a brief conversation with Borg and Crossan about the book, and it’s well worth a listen. For example, they believe that at the time Jesus was entering Jerusalem through one gate, there was an imperial procession entering another main gate. And they say that it’s up us as individuals which procession we’re going to be part of.

Now I don’t necessarily agree with their thesis. I tend to go along with Bishop Spong’s conjecture that the Holy Week scenario was developed to align the story of Jesus’ death with the scripture passages read in synagogues during Passover. But again, that’s just conjecture. And speaking of Spong, he’s got a new book out that sounds perfect for us heretics: Jesus for the Non-Religious. I enjoyed the other books I’ve read by Spong, and I’m looking forward to reading this one. But first I think I’ll wander over to the Borders on 4th Street in Seattle (which is beautiful, by the way–Mrs. Heretic and Hearty, Jr. and I visited the Aquarium this morning…there’s nothing like seeing the world through the eyes of a 20-month-old child to restore a sense of awe and wonder!) to buy The Last Week.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Interesting. I’m not – as you might have guessed – a huge Crosson, Borg or Spong fan Nonetheless, their thoughts here are interesting and meaningful. I think that the last week of Jesus’ life does line up with the Passover narratives; particularly Matthew’s version. But that makes sense because he’s writing to a Jewish audience. But I don’t think it lines up because of conjecture on the part of the gospel writers. I think it lines up because, well, that’s the way God planned it. It’s more than literary device. It’s a divine plan. Thanks for giving me some Lenten food for thought 🙂

Hope you enjoy your vacation. I’m taking a hiatus from the blogosphere for a few days beginning tomorrow. Looking forward to posting again next week and checking out your post on Monday!

Comment by j4jesus

Hope you enjoyed you blog break, Jason. I picked up the Crossan/Borg book and read the intro. I’m hoping to read the first chapter tonight. I’ll keep you (and everyone else) posted!

Comment by heartyheretic




Leave a Reply

