Hearty Heresy


Two New Mr. Deity Episodes
April 20, 2007, 8:33 pm
Filed under: Bible, Christianity, Religion, Theology

I’ve added the two newest episodes of Mr. Deity to my vodpod (below on the left). You can view them here, or check out the Mr. Deity site for yourself. As always, they’re very funny, bordering on blasphemy, and hard to resist (at least for heretics). I really enjoyed the parody of those stupid billboards (specifically the “Feeling Lost? My Book is your map”). You know the ones, the Bad Dad God. I can just hear a drunken, abusive father saying this as he’s loosening his belt: “What part of ‘Thou shalt not…’ didn’t you understand?” Or a late night phone call to a spouse who’s about to get a restraining order: “We need to talk… Let’s meet at My house Sunday, before the game… C’mon over and bring the kids… Tell the kids I love them… I love you…I love you…I love you….” And when the he can’t get his way, he starts to threaten: “You think it’s hot here?” and “My way is the highway.” Not much of a role model if you ask me. No wonder that “wives in traditional marriages ‘where the husband was dominant’ are three times more likely to be beaten than wives in egalitarian marriages.” (That’s according to Ronald J. Sider’s book The Scandal of the Evangelical Conscience.)

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I stumbled across Mr. Deity a while ago, and I have to say that it is the funniest thing I have seen in recent memory. It makes you look at what you say and do as a Christian, and makes you rethink.

Comment by the Wayfarer

Glad you enjoy Mr. Deity, Wayfarer. I don’t know how I first stumbled on it, but I was hooked from the first moment. I’m glad Dalton’s made some new episodes.

Comment by heartyheretic




Leave a Reply

