Hearty Heresy


Two Views of the Universe
May 9, 2007, 3:33 pm
Filed under: Bible, Christianity, Religion, Spirituality, Theology

I stumbled across something called The Mysteries of Deep Space Timeline yesterday that claims to cover the period of time “From the Big Bang to the End of the Universe.” Pretty tall order, if you ask me. It’s kinda neat though, and the way it divides up the history of the cosmos (Time after the Big Bang, Years before the Present, AD, and Years in the Future) reminded me of those really eerie charts that claim to show different dispensations, like this one called “Rightly Dividing the Word.” While I appreciate the graphics in RDW, I was really impressed by a chart from RightDivision.com (motto: “One Lord…One Faith…One Baptism…One Site…RightDivision.com”) called “An Overview of God’s Revealed Plan and Hidden Purpose in the Ages.” I’m especially fond of the very beginning of this chart, where it claims that “Before the Foundation of the World the Godhead prepares a revealed plan and a hidden purpose.” I mean, who doesn’t want to put their faith in a Godhead that thinks it’s fun to have a “hidden purpose”? Not me.

So rather than envisioning a Trinitarian huddle at the before the beginning of time, where F S and H (or Mr. Deity, Jesse, and Larry) come up with a scheme to test the faith of those they are about to create, I tend to believe in a creator who has only the best intentions, and whose message is so basic and understandable that it can be revealed in ways that everyone can understand. So here’s my chart of God’s revealed plan (from The Message):

Jesus said,

“Love the Lord your God with all your passion and prayer and intelligence.” This is the most important, the first on any list.

But there is a second to set alongside it:

“Love others as well as you love yourself.” These two commands are pegs; everything in God’s Law and the Prophets hangs from them.

No hidden purpose, no secret plan. Just a two step program designed to give anyone access to the most powerful force in the universe.

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I really appreciate this post. Occasionally I have fantasies about returning to the Christian church…however, I’m rational and logical enough to recognize that – theologically speaking – there IS no going back for me. I can no longer justify, rationalize or make excuses for a doctrine that is so exclusive that the majority of God’s creation will fall in everlasting ETERNAL torment based upon the nanosecond they occupy physical matter in this lifetime.

I believe in The Law of Love – and that God truly LOVES without condition. Which puts most of the Christian theology in the waste can, for me.

Comment by Grace

Thanks, Grace. The reward/punishment concept makes a lousy foundation for a religion, let alone creation. An unconditionally loving God makes much more sense for both. Perhaps the post-Christian world will have more room for those of us who share that belief.

Comment by heartyheretic

but can you put that on a chart?

Comment by pastorofdisaster

I mean with stunning 1950’s graphics.

Comment by pastorofdisaster

I was thinking of making a chart, but my inability to creatively use stunning 1950’s graphics held me back.

Comment by heartyheretic




Leave a Reply

