Hearty Heresy


Way Cup!!!!!
May 12, 2007, 6:37 pm
Filed under: Christianity, Faith, God, Heresy, Jesus, Religion, Spirituality, Theology

One of Hearty, Jr.’s favorite games is to lie down on the floor in a semi-fetal position, say quietly to himself, “Sleeping…sleeping…sleeping…,” then suddenly jump to his feet and shout, “Wake Up,” which actually sounds more like “Way Cup!!!!” He’s been playing this game for almost as long as he’s been able to talk, and he still enjoying it at the ripe old age of twenty-two months.

I mention this because Mrs. Heretic and I watched a movie last night that I’ve been waiting to see for quite some time. I would look for it every time we visited one of the Blockbuster’s near our house, but all I ever found was the plastic card indicating that the movie had already been rented. When I finally asked for it, I was told that they didn’t have it in stock anymore, so I added it to my Blockbuster Online queue, and TA DA! (another of Hearty, Jr.’s favorite sayings) Richard Linklater’s Waking Life arrived in our mailbox two days ago.

This movie contains more heresy per minute than I’ve seen in a long time, so of course I just loved it. (You can read what spiritual film critics Frederic and Mary Ann Brussat have about it here.) I mean, you’ve gotta love a movie that contains the line, “The ongoing WOW! Is happening right now,” which seems to be the basic message of a good portion of the world’s religions. In Buddhist terms, it’s about being “awake,” which fits nicely with the movie’s title. Jesus, though, didn’t talk about being awake. And that gets me thinking about what the equivalent metaphor in his teachings might be.

I’m thinking that life as a Feast is the metaphor Jesus used to express the same idea. If we would only open our eyes and truly appreciate all that is before us, we’d know that we are all guests at God’s banquet, and all that we will ever need is right in front of our eyes. And that makes the bread and wine of the communion table a symbol not of Christ’s propitiatory sacrifice, but a reminder of the infinite abundance of God’s love and grace. And that makes me want to see Babette’s Feast again! I think I’ll add it to my queue.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Have you ever seen Big Night? It is on the same line. I just saw Babette’s Feast again the other night on cable and was once again blown away. Isak Denisen was a genius.

Peace

Comment by pastorofdisaster

I think we saw the Big Night. Stanley Tucci and Tony Shalhoub, right? It’s one of the movies Mrs. Heretic had me watch before she become Mrs. Heretic. Her taste in movies is one of the reasons I married her. That and her low Christology!

Comment by heartyheretic




Leave a Reply

