Hearty Heresy


Escape from America
May 27, 2007, 7:07 pm
Filed under: Christianity, God, Heresy, Religion

Not quite. But Mrs. Heretic, Hearty, Jr. and I are once again visiting our neighbors to the north. This time we’re in Winnipeg, Manitoba, to see Mrs. H.’s Aunt Sarah. Right now I’m in a Starbucks, paying way too much for an hour’s worth of internet connection. But I had a little online work to do, and I wanted to point out a couple of things. One…Today’s Pentecost! I found that out because we went to Aunt Sarah’s Mennonite church this morning, and they pinned red carnations on all of us. Two…Yesterday was the anniversary of a very important event: “On May 26, 1521, Martin Luther was declared a heretic by the Edict of Worms because of his religious beliefs and writings.” So a hearty happy heresy to all my Lutheran friends! And three…according to TheSpoof.com, angry atheists are going to sue God. Looks like it’s Christopher Hitchens’ idea. This extremely unreliable news source says that he’s “filed a lawsuit in federal court requesting damages in the amount of $800 trillion.” I think that’s not enough.

And I guess that as long as I’m pointing out humorous bogus news stories, you might want to take a look a Sub Ratione Dei and this repost of “Frightened Black Family Flees Emergent Church.” I love the last line: “They need to go back to whatever they ’emerged’ out of.”

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I can not and I will not recant!

Comment by pastorofdisaster

Yeah! Stick to the Pope…or whoever’s calling you a heretic.

Comment by heartyheretic

I loved the emergent story! The hippies that I hang around all say,”Isn’t that emergent stuff what we tried in the 60’s? It didn’t work.”

Comment by pastorofdisaster

Yeah, it does have a bit of a deja vu quality to it. Difference this time may be the internet (not part of the bogus story). Loose ties among emergent congregations facilitated by the web may help them last longer than what the Jesus Freaks were able to muster.

Comment by heartyheretic




Leave a Reply

