Hearty Heresy


Surprise! I’m a Pelagian….
June 7, 2007, 5:34 pm
Filed under: Christianity, Faith, God, Heresy, Jesus, Religion, Theology

That’s really not a surprise, I guess. When I finished the “Are You a Heretic” quiz, I was given a tie-breaker question, something like “Which is most true: 1.) We have not inherited original sin from Adam; or 2.) The Holy Spirit is the presence of God the Father.” Of course I chose the first since I think that the doctrine of Original Sin is the absolutely worst thing that happened to Christianity and totally undermines the authentic teachings of Jesus. So here’s the result:

You are a Pelagian. You reject ideas about man’s fallen human nature and believe that as a result we are able to fully obey God. You are the first Briton to contribute significantly to Christian thought, but you’re still excommunicated in 417.

If I would have chose the second option as number one, I would have been declared a Monarchian:

You are a Monarchian. You seek to retain monotheistic belief but in doing so abandon the idea of a triune God. God exists as the Father only, though he can reveal himself in other ways in a manner similar to modalism. Jesus is a man who is adopted into the Godhead and given divine status. Jehovah’s Witnesses still hold to this belief.

Not, quite what I believe, but either way, I’m far from orthodox, which suits me fine. I also scored with these heresies: Socinianism, Nestorianism, Apollanarian. Here are my complete results:

Pelagianism
 
100%
Monarchianism
 
100%
Socinianism
 
33%
Nestorianism
 
33%
Apollanarian
 
33%
Chalcedon compliant
 
0%
Albigensianism
 
0%
Donatism
 
0%
Modalism
 
0%
Arianism
 
0%
Adoptionist
 
0%
Gnosticism
 
0%
Monophysitism
 
0%
Docetism
 
0%

Are you a heretic?
created with QuizFarm.com

The important thing is that I’m 0% Chalcedon compliant. I told you I was a heretic!

20 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Apparently I’m a Pelagian as well.

You scored as Pelagianism, You are a Pelagian. You reject ideas about man’s fallen human nature and believe that as a result we are able to fully obey God. You are the first Briton to contribute significantly to Christian thought, but you’re still excommunicated in 417.Pelagianism92% Chalcedon compliant83% Apollanarian50% Nestorianism42% Monophysitism42% Modalism25% Gnosticism25% Adoptionist17% Monarchianism8% Socinianism8% Arianism8% Donatism0% Albigensianism0% Docetism0% Are you a heretic?created with QuizFarm.com

Comment by the Wayfarer

I’m thinking that probably has to do with my belief that all humanity sins except if God is in the individual. That is how Christ being fully human was not sinful.

Comment by the Wayfarer

Interesting perspective. If sin is missing the mark (i.e., failing to see the Holy in each human being), then we may well need divine help in order to do that avoid sin. Jesus seems to have not missed the mark too often…at least in the gentler portraits of him in the Gospels.

Comment by heartyheretic

My results were:
You scored as Chalcedon compliant, You are Chalcedon compliant. Congratulations, you’re not a heretic. You believe that Jesus is truly God and truly man and like us in every respect, apart from sin. Officially approved in 451.Chalcedon compliant92% Pelagianism58% Adoptionist58% Socinianism50% Monarchianism33% Modalism33% Apollanarian33% Donatism17% Monophysitism17% Nestorianism8% Arianism8% Albigensianism0% Gnosticism0% Docetism0% Are you a heretic?created with QuizFarm.com

Think I might have to remove myself from such sinners! 🙂 The trouble is that while I may be Chalcedon compliant I have problems with the creed as a political document in any case, oh well!

Comment by rgillingham

It is an awful political document, isn’t it? Just goes to show you that orthodoxy usually isn’t a win/win situation! Oh well, indeed.

Comment by heartyheretic

Hearty Heretic,

You mentioned a definition for sin as missing the mark. I would offer a definition for sin right out of the Bible, “…for sin is the transgression of the law” (1 John 3:4).

By that definition sin isn’t “failing to see the Holy in each human being.” It would be breaking God’s law (the Ten Commandments), such as telling a lie, stealing, not keeping God first in your life, looking at a woman with lust, or making up a god that you’re comfortable with (whether in your mind or carving it out of wood).

I’d say we have all personally chosen to rebel against God and his commands. Whether you want to give Adam some of that blame is up to you.

Thanks,
Bill

Comment by Bill

Good points, Bill. One can have another definition of sin and still not tie it to the concept of original sin. I do like the idea of “missing the mark” as sin. I’d say that the two biggest marks we miss are loving God and loving each other. I like to think of “seeing the Holy in each human being” as a two-fer–we’re loving God AND on another. Thanks for the comment.

Comment by heartyheretic

I believe you will enjoy “The Ballad Of Eddie And God” Check it out.
🙂

Comment by Gus St. Anthony

Will do. Thanks!

Comment by heartyheretic

Welcome to the pelagian way of life. I recently took the theologian quiz and was 87% Paul Tillich. It really made the sun shine a little brighter and ground me in being couragously.

Comment by pastorofdisaster

Wow! Eighty-seven percent Tillich. Not bad. I think I’d be pretty happy if I were 62% Henry Nelson Wieman…or maybe 53% James Luther Adams. I’d love to be 100% Gordon Kaufman!

Comment by heartyheretic

Too bad those were not choices.

Comment by pastorofdisaster

Frak me! I scored as Jürgen Moltmann! (Second place? Schleiermacher–whoo-hoo!) It is too bad that the quiz doesn’t include Kaufman, et. al.

Comment by heartyheretic

Jurgen Moltmann is the Calgon of theologians. Jurgen, take me away! I’ve always thought I was more of a Dorothee Soelle and Leonardo Boff person myself.

Comment by pastorofdisaster

Was Schillebeeckx a possible result? You’ve gotta love a name that ends in “ckx”!

Comment by heartyheretic

Congrats my Pelagian brother! My results are:

“You scored as Monarchianism, You are a Monarchian. You seek to retain monotheistic belief but in doing so abandon the idea of a triune God. God exists as the Father only, though he can reveal himself in other ways in a manner similar to modalism. Jesus is a man who is adopted into the Godhead and given divine status. Jehovah’s Witnesses still hold to this belief.”

Oh, BTW I’m on the bandwagon with pastorofdisaster as 87% Paul Tillich. Talk about a combination!

Comment by Dangerous Christian

Whew. Monarchian and 87 % Tillich to boot. You are a Dangerous Christian!

Comment by heartyheretic

[…] capitalism, or the steady erosion of civil liberties in the United States. Unless you are 100% Chalcedon Compliant my friend, the flames of hell await you. So run, don’t walk, to your nearest Brand Xian […]

Pingback by Hearty Heresy

Was the whole lambasting and roasting of Pelagius racially inspired? Was it really simply that the rich well educated Italians and their token black guy Augustine just couldn’t stand them hicks from Britania? Probably. Because all the “church fathers” from Justin Martyr up to Pelagius’ time taught free will and defended it against Pagan fatalism. How did fatalism all the sudden become ‘orthodox’? It was knee jerk reaction of the corrupt elitist Imperial Church and their hatred of anyone Briton. Jerome writes that Pelagius was “stuffed full of the porridge of the Scotts.” Its a clear racial slur, even though it looks so tame to us moderns that we might not recognize it as such. Basically, my point is, that the branding of Pelagius as a heretic is a slap in the face to all Brits, and was motivated by nothing more than racism and elitism….unless it was also motivated by the fact that Pelagius taught that “we ought to obey God rather than men” (Acts 5:29) whereas Augustine taught OSAS, which is wonderfully summarized by his favorite prayer “Lord, give me chastity, but not just yet.”

Comment by jun

[…] Hearty invited everybody to take a quiz on what heresy your viewpoints fit best with.  Here are my […]

Pingback by My Semi-Pelagian Views « The Wayfarer’s Creed




Leave a Reply

