Hearty Heresy


Visit the Fred and Wilma Flintstone Memorial Museum
June 26, 2007, 5:46 pm
Filed under: Bible, Christianity, God, Hell, Heresy, Jesus, Religion

There’s a post from another blog that I’ve wanted to share for a couple of weeks now, and since it seems that I’m currently unable to come up with even a single original thought, now’s the time. I’m especially happy to have a ready-made post title available, courtesy of Red State Rabble, who points us to BlueGrassRoots‘ dead-on guided tour of the Answers in Genesis Creation Museum. If it weren’t so scary, I’d say it was hi-fraking-larious. These are the same people I blogged about a while back, the ones whose logic runs like this:

Creation Guy: Hey, kids, just because the word “dinosaur” isn’t in the Bible doesn’t mean that dinosaurs didn’t exist in biblical times. I mean, there are lots of words that weren’t invented when the Bible was written, like “computer,” right?

Brainwashing Victims: Right!

Creation Guy: But you believe that computers exist, don’t you?

Brainwashing Victims: Yes!

Creation Guy: In fact, Jesus had a BlackBerry so God the Father could communicate with him. That’s why he was always going off alone into the desert and stuff. God was texting him.

But I jest. Would make a good song, though, wouldn’t it? “Jesus Had a BlackBerry.” Everybody now!

Jesus had a BlackBerry

Tucked underneath his robe

So God could tell him what to say

And by-pass his frontal lobe

“Just tell ’em you’re my own dear Son

Destined for the Cross

And if they don’t believe you

We’ll show ’em who’s the Boss

Yes, we’ll fry ’em in a fiery pit

And show ’em who’s the Boss!”

I think I missed my calling. I should be writing words for praise songs! Hallelujah!

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Hey! I think you’re really onto something there! LOL 🙂

I have to tell you this, though..the part that had me actually laughing out loud was this:

“and since it seems that I’m currently unable to come up with even a single original thought, now’s the time”

I hear that! Some days I just look at the blank screen like a deer in the headlights and think, My God! There’s nothing in there! (my head)

🙂 Free at Last Free at last! I’ve finally gotten over this idea I ‘had’ to write..it actually worked in my favor..Hum. Maybe I was suffering from performance anxiety! LOL

Comment by Grace

Thanks, Grace! One of the great things about blogging is the freedom to say, “Hey, I’m a real basket case today.” And once that’s said, the performance anxiety’s gone. You can speak your mind and it either makes sense or not. But we’re keeping the conversation going, which is where the connections are made.

Comment by heartyheretic




Leave a Reply

