Hearty Heresy


Thank God Only 4% of Adults Have a Biblical Worldview
July 31, 2007, 5:46 pm
Filed under: Bible, Christianity, Faith, God, Jesus, Religion, Theology

I’ve been meaning to post on this for a while, but just haven’t gotten around to it. But now that I’ve added the Clipmarks “Blog This Clip” feature to my Firefox browser, I thought I’d make this my test clip. It’s from a 2003 article from the Barna Group entitled “A Biblical Worldview Has a Radical Effect on a Person’s Life,” and all I can say is, “Yikes! This is Brand Xianity in it’s most egregious form.” Believing the six specific religious views Barna lists would most definitely have a “radical effect on a person’s life.” But so does becoming addicted to oxycontin. For a up close and personal account of what I’m talking about, check out Jesus Camp. Mrs. Heretic and I just watched it last night, and we’re still shuddering. I repeat: Yikes!

clipped from www.barna.org
For the purposes of the research, a biblical worldview was defined as believing that absolute moral truths exist; that such truth is defined by the Bible; and firm belief in six specific religious views. Those views were that Jesus Christ lived a sinless life; God is the all-powerful and all-knowing Creator of the universe and He stills rules it today; salvation is a gift from God and cannot be earned; Satan is real; a Christian has a responsibility to share their faith in Christ with other people; and the Bible is accurate in all of its teachings.

  blog it
1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

[…] are people who have a “Biblical world view” (see this earlier Barna report I blogged on a while back, which says “only 4% of adults have a biblical worldview as the basis of their […]

Pingback by I Bet the Number of Heretics Is on the Rise, Too « Hearty Heresy




Leave a Reply

